

Summerset Group Holdings Limited Level 27 Majestic Centre, 100 Willis St, Wellington PO Box 5187, Wellington 6140 Phone: 04 894 7320 | Fax: 04 894 7319 Website: www.summerset.co.nz

# NZX & ASX RELEASE

#### 15 APRIL 2021

## MARK VERBIEST APPOINTED AS CHAIR OF SUMMERSET BOARD

Summerset Group Holdings Limited is pleased to announce the appointment of Mark Verbiest as Chair of its Board of Directors.

Mr Verbiest will succeed retiring Chair Rob Campbell, who leaves after a decade in the role.

Mr Verbiest is currently Chair of listed companies Meridian Energy and Freightways, as well as a director of ANZ Bank.

He has previously been Chair of Spark, Transpower NZ, Willis Bond Capital and a director of a number of other companies and entities, including the inaugural board of the Financial Markets Authority and the advisory board to NZ Treasury.

Mr Campbell said Mr Verbiest would bring a wealth of governance and leadership experience.

Mr Verbiest will take up the role from 1 July 2021. Mr Campbell previously announced he would retire from Summerset in April but his finishing date has been extended to 30 June 2021 for reasons of continuity.

### ENDS

#### For investor relations enquiries: Tania Smith Acting Chief Financial Officer tania.smith@summerset.co.nz 027 579 2577

For media enquiries: Jenny Bridgen Communications Manager jenny.bridgen@summerset.co.nz 021 408 215

### ABOUT SUMMERSET

- Summerset is one of the leading operators and developers of retirement villages in New Zealand, with 33 villages completed or in development across the country. In addition, Summerset has seven sites for development in Half Moon Bay (Auckland), Milldale (Auckland), Parnell (Auckland), Rangiora (Canterbury), Waikanae (Kapiti Coast), Blenheim (Marlborough), and Cambridge (Waikato) plus three properties in Victoria, Australia, bringing the total number of sites to 43.
- It provides a range of living options and care services to more than 6200 residents.
- The Summerset Group has villages in Aotea, Avonhead, Bell Block, Casebrook, Dunedin, Ellerslie, Hamilton, Hastings, Havelock North, Hobsonville, Karaka, Katikati, Kenepuru, Levin, Lower Hutt, Manukau, Napier, Nelson, New Plymouth, Palmerston North, Papamoa Beach, Paraparaumu, Prebbleton, Richmond, Rototuna, St Johns, Taupo, Te Awa, Trentham, Wanganui, Warkworth, Whangarei and Wigram.