

6 May 2024

Australian Securities and Investments Commission Mr Benjamin Cohn-Urbach Senior Executive Leader, Market Infrastructure Level 5, 100 Market Street SYDNEY NSW 2000 ASX Market Announcements Office ASX Limited 20 Bridge Street SYDNEY NSW 2000

# WAYNE BYRES JOINS ASX BOARD AND YASMIN ALLEN AM TO RETIRE

ASX Limited (ASX) Chair Damian Roche announces the appointment of Wayne Byres as non-executive director to the ASX Board today.

Mr Byres brings over 30 years' experience in financial services regulation, risk management, governance and public policy in both domestic and international roles. He has held high-profile supervisory roles including as the former Chair of the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) and as the Secretary General of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision. In his role as APRA Chair Mr Byres served on the Reserve Bank of Australia's Payments System Board and was a member of the Australian Council of Financial Regulators.

Mr Roche said: "On behalf of the Board, I am delighted to welcome Wayne. We look forward to drawing on his deep financial services and regulatory expertise."

The appointment of Mr Byres continues the program of board renewal under Mr Roche, who, since taking the role of Chair in April 2021, has overseen the appointment of five new non-executive directors.

ASX also confirms that non-executive director Yasmin Allen AM has announced her intention to retire from the Board and she will step down at the conclusion of the September Board meeting. Ms Allen was first appointed to the ASX Board in February 2015.

Mr Roche said: "I want to thank Yasmin for her many years of diligent service where she always brought her commercial lens and the shareholder view to the boardroom. The Board and I have benefited from her experience, judgment and counsel."

# About Wayne Byres

Mr Byres is a highly credentialed financial services leader who has held several key prudential supervisory roles in Australia and overseas. He is presently an expert advisor to the International Monetary Fund and was previously Chair of the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority for eight years to 2022. In his role as APRA Chair Mr Byres served on the Reserve Bank of Australia's Payments System Board and was a member of the Australian Council of Financial Regulators.

Prior to his role as APRA Chair Mr Byres served as Secretary General to the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision where he was responsible for facilitating the successful completion of international negotiations on several post-Global Financial Crisis reforms to banking regulation.

20 Bridge Street Sydney NSW 2000 His earlier career included several senior leadership roles at APRA, as well as roles at the Reserve Bank of Australia and the Bank of England.

In February 2024, Mr Byres was appointed as a non-executive director of Macquarie Bank Limited and is one of three bank-only, non-executive directors within the Macquarie Group. He is a senior fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Release of market announcement authorised by:

#### Johanna O'Rourke

**Group General Counsel and Company Secretary** 

Further enquiries:

### Media

David Park

Manager, Media and Communications

+61 429 595 788

david.park@asx.com.au

### **Analysts and Investors**

Simon Starr

GM, Investor Relations and Sustainability

+61 2 9227 0623

Μ +61 416 836 550

simon.starr@asx.com.au Ε